Tags

, , , ,

MY YOUTH

Image by Joe Mad via Flickr

It has been two years since I started this blog…where did the time go?  Here is one of the original posts.  Enjoy!

Sometimes I need to go back to the beginning to re-examine and re-define why I dance tango.  I have to feel the excitement and immense mystery in that moment of discovery.

I am always curious to hear how people found tango or what that first time was like for them. I fondly remember my initial tango experience.

Rewind to my hometown, a small community, and a weekend workshop with a visiting teacher from Buenos Aires.  I had taken a few classes that day and went to the milonga that night wearing chinos and Doc Martin boots (yikes!).  My Docs were the only shoes I owned  that I could pivot in.

I watched this brand-new group dancing and thought,  ‘Wow!’ , ‘Holy cow!’, and ‘Where have I been?’   The music stirred my soul and I thought the dancing was magical.  Then the Teacher asked me to dance and I, in a panic, said, ‘No, no, no. I will just watch.’  But he replied, ‘the only way to learn, is to do.’  So off I went for my first real tango dance while wearing casual chinos and black Doc Martin boots with purple laces.  I am pretty sure I was horrendous but my teacher suffered through it with grace and elegance.  I couldn’t have asked for a better introduction.

Since that day, over ten years ago, I have not stopped learning and discovering.  Tango  has given me a beautiful community and has enriched my life.   But to be clear I haven’t danced in my Doc Martins since! 🙂

When was the first time you saw/heard/experienced Argentine Tango?  What was that experience like for you?

